Yann Tiersen

Guillaume Yann Tiersen is a French musician and composer known internationally for composing the score to the Jean-Pierre Jeunet movie Amélie.

His music is recognized by its use of a large variety of instruments in relatively minimalist compositions, often with a touch of either European classical music or French folk music, using primarily the piano, accordion or violin together with instruments like the melodica, xylophone, toy piano, ondes martenot, harpsichord and typewriter.

Tiersen was born in Brittany, France, (23.06.1970) and received classical training at several musical academies, including those in Rennes, Nantes, and Boulogne. Tiersen favors the piano, accordion, and violin, but is also known for his experimentation and use of obscure and found instruments like the ondes martenot and the typewriter.

His first album “La Valse des Monstres” was released in 1995 and second “Rue des Cascades” in 1996. Before releasing scores under his own name, Tiersen recorded background music for a number of plays and short films, such as La Vie Rêvée des Anges (1998, Erick Zonca), Alice et Martin (1998, André Téchiné), Qui Plume la Lune? (Christine Carrière, 1999).

He rose to domestic fame upon the release of his third album, “Le Phare” in 1998. On his fourth album “Tout est Calme” (1999) featured such performers as the Vienna Symphony Orchestra, Lisa Germano, Neil Hannon (of The Divine Comedy), Dominique A, Françoiz Breut, Têtes Raides, Sacha Toorop (of Zop Hopop), the actress Natacha Regnier, Christian Quermalet, Marc Sens, Christine Ott and The Married Monk. His fifth studio album “L’Absente” was released in 2001 and featured performers Synaxis, Lisa Germano, Sacha Toorop, Dominique A, Neil Hannon and Natacha Régnier.

Yann Tiersen remained relatively unknown outside France until the release of his score for “Le fabuleux destin d’Amélie Poulain” in 2001. Director Jean-Pierre Jeunet chanced upon the largely accordion and piano driven music of Yann Tiersen while driving with his production assistant who put on a CD he hadn’t heard before. Greatly impressed, he immediately bought Tiersen’s entire catalog and eventually commissioned him to compose pieces for the film. The soundtrack features both compositions from Tiersen’s first three albums, but also new items, variants of which can be found on his fourth album, “L’Absente”, which he was writing at the same time.

In 2003 Yann Tiersen composed another soundtrack this time for German tragicomedy film “Good Bye Lenin!“. In 2004 he also released a collaborative CD with American singer-songwriter Shannon Wright. His 2005 album, “Les Retrouvailles“, featured vocals from Stuart Staples of Tindersticks, Jane Birkin, and Elizabeth Fraser, formerly of Cocteau Twins.

Latest work from Yann Tiersen is soundtrack for documentary film “Tabarly” which was recorded in 2008.

Mp3: Yann Tiersen – La Valse D’amelie (Piano Version)
Mp3: Yann Tiersen – Summer 78 (Feat Claire Pichet)
Mp3: Yann Tiersen – Mary (Feat Elizabeth Fraser)
Mp3: Yann Tiersen – Monochrome (Feat Dominique A)
Mp3: Yann Tiersen – Rue Des Cascades (Feat Claire Pichet)

Yann Tiersen – Rue Des Cascades (Live)

Yann Tiersen – Comptine D’un Autre Ete L’apress Midi (Animation)

Yann Tiersen – Summer 78

Yann Tiersen – Live Aux Eurock 2001


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s