SBTRKT

SBTRKT is project of London based producer Aaron Jerome. Graciously allowing the music to speak for itself, even going to the length of performing behind a mask every time he plays out.

Just 2 years ago, he was on nobody’s radar, and now a flurry of high profile remixes and remarkably produced solo outings have propelled him to the forefront of the UK dance music scene. But as he said in one interview: “I’ve been creating music for about 10 years and spend most of my spare time in front of Logic messing with tunes. Ever since listening to Masters At Work mid 90s house, drum & bass from the Reinforced / Metalheadz era through to 2-step I wanted to make tunes, and started messing with those sounds. My early stuff was more of an imitation of other artists rather than my own direction. Over time I learnt how to record and arrange any of the ideas I had in my head from the beats to bigger strings.”

“No-one knew who I was when I sent tracks out as SBTRKT… I’m pretty anti ‘well-connected’ artists. The only reason people heard my tracks is because DJs like Mary Anne Hobbs, Sinden, Benji B started playing them first and then it caught on to DJs like Annie Mac, Skream, Zinc. Twitter has been great at hitting people up – I just write tracks and let them out there through my email. Or I just chuck my new tracks up on Soundcloud for people to hear. Chances are they won’t come out for ages because I’m crap at hooking finished tracks up with labels!”

He first appeared with a white label future garage mash-up of Goldie’s “Timeless” and “Inner City Life.” Basement Jaxx were early fans, commissioning him to remix the Kelis-fronted “Scars” into a skippily hyperactive bass-heavy banger, and he’s since gone on to rerub the likes of Jose James, Modeselektor, These New Puritans, Fantastic Mr Fox, Portico Quartet and even UK pop grime artist Tinie Tempah with his megahit “Pass Out“.

His first official single “Laika” was released on Brainmath in 2009, then  followed “Soundboy Shift/ Rundown” on Young Turks and another EP on Brainmath – “2020“, which blurred the lines between deep house, funky techno, broken beat and UK funky over four tracks.

After first three solo releases he started to collaborate with other artists such as Sinden (“Kind of Familiar / Midnight Marauder”) and Sampha (“Break Off / Evening Glow”).

His latest releases include “Sleep In Tokyo” on Tempa, “The Unspoken” on Monkeytown, collaboration with Jessie Ware Nervous / Fright” on Numbers and “Step In Shadows EP” on Young Turks. He also remixed such hits as M.I.A. “XXXO”, Mark Ronson “Bang Bang Bang”, Little Dragon “Never Nerver”, Underworld “Bird 1” plus some tracks from Darwin Deez, Alex Claire and J-Wow. Currently he also working on his debut album which should be released very soon.

Sbtrkt – Hide Or Seek

Sbtrkt – Look At Stars

Jessie Ware & Sbtrkt – Nervous

Tinie Tempah – Pass Out (Sbtrkt Remix)

Sbtrkt – Look At Stars

Sbtrkt – Nervous (Feat Jessie Ware) (Live At The Boiler Room)

Leave a Reply

