The two producers and DJs from Hamburg, Frederic Berger and Patrick Buck met in summer 2008. While Frederic could already celebrate various successes as part of Nudisco, and Patrick could say the same as a member of Kaiser Souzai; common sympathies bring people together, and so the way was paved for the creation of their new project, Kaiserdisco.

The first production from the two was a remix for Phunklarique (one half of Piemont) and Pierce “Swoosh“.  It was done mostly for fun, but as the way it sometimes goes, a bit of fun led to an absolute hit!  Three days after the release, it stayed over a month as #2 on Beatport’s charts in December 2008 and won an award as one of “Beatport’s minimal top 10 selling tracks in 2008”.

After further remixes for Koen Groeneveld and Groove Garcia, they concentrated on their debut “Traction EP” that was released in November 2008 for the Berlin label Micro.fon, increasing sales, and making a name for themselves.

In February 2009 they presented their newest EP, “Pipe!” on the Cologne label MBF, followed by further remixes for Access Denied, Holgi Star, Christian Fischer, Extrawelt and many more. With their “Zapateria EP” (MBF 12055), they created their first summer hit and title song, the a-side “Espandrillo” got very high in the Beatport charts as well as selling very good through Kompakt distribution as vinyl.

Then followed “Amalfino” which evolved as the biggest hit they had so far. Climbing up to no3 in the Beatport sale charts and staying in the charts for over 3 months, “Amalfino” was hitting the bulls-eye in every respect. Richie Hawtin, Laurent Garnier, Stephan Bodzin, Dubfire, Tiefschwarz were among the many to celebrate the track in their sets and to boost the popularity of Kaiserdisco.

Releases on Terminal M, Drumcode (collaboration with Flavio DiazLe Feu EP“), Kling Klong and Micro.fon showed that their potential was huge. Their re-interpretations of Booka Shade “Bad Love”, Umek “No One Could Have Suspected” and Robyn “Hang With Me” firmly established their reputations as excellent remixers.

Kaiserdisco debut album “In No One´s Shadow” was released in November 2010 and compiled ten new and previously unreleased tracks plus their chart breakers “Aquja” and “Carachillo“. Much of the album delivers efficient, solidly produced tech-house that’s neither too minimal nor excessively embellished. The two former singles slot into the tracklist nicely, still sounding like firm highlights, while the two furthest departures from the duo’s formula arrive at the beginning and end of the album: the strong, melodic opener “Tripping Lure” and my personal favorite “Djuma Of Love“, which features some fairly wooly acoustic guitar deployment.

Latest releases from Kaiserdisco include album of remixes of “In No One’s Shadow“, new EPs “Victoria Harbour” and “City of Kings“, plus some new remixes on Martine Eyerer & Kosheen “Your Move” and Heartik “Mini Swing”.

Kaiserdisco – Amalfino

Kaiserdisco – Aguja

Kaiserdisc0 – Djuma Of Love


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s