Michael Calfan – Nobody Does It Better

Frenchman Michael Calfan became famous with his anthem “Treasured Soul“, that was released in the end of 2014 and spread all over the world during middle part of 2015.

After that he realeased a couple new tracks like “Mercy“, “Falcon” and “The World” plus remixes on Major Lazer “Powerful”, Duke Dumont “Ocean Drive”and Oliver Holdens “Koala”.

His latest masterpiece is called “Nobody Does It Better” and was released on Spinnin’ Records (as was his previous one “Breaking The Doors” in November 2015) on first of February 2016.  The first stream of this track on SoundCloud is already closing on 2 million plays, and official music featuring young versions of Bonnie and Clyde already passed half a million mark, a good start to be a future hit.

artworks-000140001084-6bv4km-t500x500Label: Spinnin’ Records (SP1016)
Release Date: 01.02.2016


Official Site


Chromeo – Business Casual

Chromeo is an electrofunk duo based in Montreal, Canada composed of P-Thugg (real name Patrick Gemayel) on keyboards, synthesizers, and talk box, and Dave 1 (real name David Macklovitch) on guitar and lead vocals. The two childhood friends jokingly describe themselves as “the only successful Arab/Jewish partnership since the dawn of human culture.”

Their third album “Business Casual” was released on September 13, 2010, and follows their first two “She’s In Control” (2004) and “Fancy Footwork“, which gave the world such hits as “Needy Girl”,  “Fancy Footwork”, “Tenderoni” and “Bonafied Lovin'”.

The best track on this album and most professionally done is of course first single from it – “Night By Night“, typical Chromeo sound, was released in September 2009. The second single “Don’t Turn The Lights On” followed in June 2010, and the most recent “Hot Mess” with Elly Jackson aka La Roux in November 2010. Another great track on “Business Casual” is “When The Night Falls” featuring Solange Knowles, sister of mighty Beyoncé.

The Deluxe Version of “Business Casual” was released on iTunes on September 14, 2010 and features the first 10 songs of the standard album, a new track “I Could Be Wrong” feat. Ezra Koenig, remixes of “Night By Night” from Skream and Siriusmo and of “Don’t Turn The Lights On” from Aeroplane and Christina Martin, two music videos of “Don’t Turn The Lights On” (directed by Keith Schofield) and “Night By Night” (directed by Surface2Air), and a Digital Booklet.

Chromeo – Night By Night

Chromeo – Don’t Turn The Lights On

Chromeo – Hot Mess (Feat Elly Jackson)

Pryda – Glimma / Illusions

Just recently I wrote about latest Eric Prydz megahit “The Reason which started as Pryda Niton” but Eric Sheridan Prydz don’t stop moving and creating new music.

On December 15th 2010 he released another two great tracks “Glimma” and “Illusions” on his private Pryda Recordings as Pryda19.5, with Pryda19 being “Niton / Vega“. Massively played by Pete Tong in three latest Essential Selection, especially “Illusions” have potential for becoming another Pryda superhit.

Pryda – Illusions

Pryda – Glimma

Guti & Dubshape – Every Cow Has A Bird

One of the latest Pete Tong’s Essential New Tunes is “Every Cow Has A Bird” from Guti & Dubshape.

A classically-trained jazz virtuoso and national rock ‘n’ roll hero in Argentina, Guti was born in an exceptionally musical, sprawling catholic family, which included orchestra directors, saxophone players and pianists. His grandfather and uncles emigrated from Russia after the war. His mother, an education consultant, is from Uruguay. During the rule of the El Proceso military junta, Guti’s family fled to cities in Venezuela and Costa Rica: a story arching across Latin America, France and Russia. As a child he soaked up poems and novels by Borges and Vargas Llosa and his father would sing him Cuban songs. He is influenced by the folk music of Argentina, which he says is both incredibly intricate and perfectly simple.

As a teen, after getting into blues he began hanging with successful Argentine rock bands like the Black and Blues, Ratones Paranoicos, Viejas Locas and Los Piojos. Before long, his own band Jovenes Pordioseros were playing to the crowds of 10,000 people. But it’s not in Guti’s nature to stay locked in one mode of music. He made time to study salsa from a Cuban teacher on the side, as well as studying jazz under various teachers including internationally-renowned pianist Ernesto Jodos. It was in the studio of Latin Grammy-nominated producer and friend Leandro Martinez that Guti began experimenting with making house beats and singing on top. And having grown up with music, it didn’t take long before he was banging out several tracks a day without breaking a sweat.

A heartbeat later, he had landed a hit with Damian Schwarz on Frankfurt label Raum…Musik, and the tune was licensed by Loco Dice for his compilation The Lab. Then followed releases on Loco Dice & Martin Buttrich’s Desolat label as well as a string of collaborations with Shaun Reeves on Wolf + Lamb (“Hold Me Tight”) and Ryan Crosson on Supplement Facts (“You’ve Got Me”).

Dubshape aka Ale Reis and Joao Lee are two old time DJs, producers and friends from the Brazilian house scene. Inspite producing together Joao and Ale have always trailed separate DJ careers. As DJs they represent the deep and tech house scene in Brazil. Playing at clubs like Warung and D-Edge, where they have their current Dubshape residency in Sao Paulo, making warm-ups to DJs like Steve Bug, Gui Boratto, Phonique, Booka Shade, DJ T, Francois Dubois. With influences from old school house and deep house together with a blend of tech textures, their production caught the attention of labels such as 8Bit Records (“Spaced Out”), Kompakt Records (“Droplets”) and Supernature Records (“Fragments EP”).

So it’s no wonder that if you cross breed this three great musicians you get great hit in the form of “Every Cow Has A Bird“. Layered with jazzy piano medleys, undulating percussive drums, staccato cries and jubilant whistles, it has feel good stamped all over it. First appearing on Damian Lazarus’ new Fabric CD compilation it has been well in demand ever since. On the flip “Bueno” is a bit heavier, marked with throbbing bass and the quintessential piano key’s. Penetrating the senses with round textures and hungry vocals, it is still stamped with Guti’s trademark effervescent jazz pianist style. “Every Cow Has A Bird” together with “Bueno” was released on Crosstown Rebels on November 22, 2010.

Guti & Dubshape – Every Cow Has A Bird

Guti & Dubshape – Bueno

Digitalism – Blitz

Long-awaited new single from Digitalism Blitz” is finally out!

German dance punk duo Digitalism was founded in 2004 in Hamburg and consists of Jens “Jence” Moelle and İsmail “Isi” Tüfekçi. Their debut album “Idealism” (2007) contained such great hits as “Idealistic”, “Zdarlight”, “Jupiter Room”, “Pogo” and “Apollo Gaze”.

Digitalism also created great remixes of White Stripes “Seven Nation Army”, The Cure “Fire In Cairo”, Cut Copy “Going Nowhere”, Daft Punk “Technologic”, Depeche Mode “Never Let Me Down Again”, The Futureheads “Skip To The End”, Klaxons “Atlantis to Interzone”, The Presets “Down Down Down”, Tiga “(Far From) Home” and Dave Gahan “Kingdom”.

Their latest work “Moshi Moshi” EP  was released on 6 February 2008, only in Japan through the Japanese EMI label and contained remixes of “Pogo”, “Idealistic”, live versions of “The Pulse”, “Zdarlight”, new track “Yes, I Don’t Want This” and amazing new vocal version of “Zdarlight” named “ZDRLT (Rewind)“.

Since then I don’t hear any news about Digitalism until the release of “Blitz EP“. It was released on November 8th on French label Kitsuné Music and contains two new tracks “Blitz” and “Stratosphere“, plus remixes of “Blitz” from Harvard Bass and Villa.

Digitalism – Blitz

Digitalism – Blitz (Harvard Bass Remix)

Digitalism – Blitz (Villa Remix)

Digitalism – Blitz